1998 Dolphin 36 Foot Almost Purchased????

gregolson65

I am about to dive into this 1998 Dolphin 36 foot RV. But before I do. I am brand new to this and a couple questions. If anyone has experience in this RV please respond....This RV is very nice. The dealer had a complete makeover inside. He said he paid over $16,000 in makeover.....Kind of hard to believe....It has all wood floors, new leather couch sleeper. only 35,000 miles. 330 hours on gernator....Is this a good buy for $24,700?

- What type of Demo inspection should I do?
- Obvious things to look around and inside RV before Demo?
- What to Demo? (Toilets,Shower, Sink, Stove...etc....)
- Future maintenance problems to encounter?
- Preventive Maintenance checklist?

topdownman

RE: 1998 Dolphin 36 Foot Almost Purchased????

Well, that's a 12 year old RV so depending on how you want to look at it, it's a great deal or terrible deal. Just remember you'll never get your money out of that unit. I have a 1995 Holiday Rambler Endeavor that I bought in 2003. At the time I paid $29,000. NADA says it's worth $9,000 now. But, it's a great motorhome and we love it. It too has had a lot of remodel work done on the interior so it's been heavily updated and it's had a lot of suspension upgrades, custom exhaust, etc. A great road RV. So, if you like the layout and it suits your purpose, but it. Just be aware that there will be things go wrong and you just have to stay on top of those repairs. I've had to replace both AC thermostats and circuit boards (upgraded to digital), some dash controls, brakes and a few other mechanical items. If you can do the work yourself you're way ahead. If you have to pay someone, it's going to cost.

Look at the tires closely and check the datecodes. If they are over 4 years old, plan on new tires all around. Make sure all systems function exactly as they should and if they don't have the dealer fix them or knock that much off the price.