2008 Explorer Capacity

chucksherm1

I am plannonig to tow a 23' Rockwood Roo, dry weight 3680lbs, with my 2008 Ford Explorer. It came with the standard trailer tow package from the dealer. Class C receiver.
The Explorer is rated for 5200lbs max. I'm new to this. Any advice?

C Nash

Re: 2008 Explorer Capacity

Welcome to the forum Charles. You will probably be close to your max if not over by the time you load everything. Remember what you have in the explorer will also be added. What is the posted weight of the Rockwood? Should be a sticker inside with this info.

DL Rupper

Hey chucksherm1, welcome to the forum. Just be careful of how much cargo/fluids you put in the Rockwood Roo. :) It doesn't take much to exceed your tow capacity. :eek:

chucksherm1

RE: 2008 Explorer Capacity

Thanks for the response! I don't know what the sticker says the weight is. Everywhere I've looked I've seen the dry weight listed at 3600lbs. The owners manual lists my Explorer capacity at 5200lbs. So, I'm thinking that 70gals of water should be another 700lbs plus maybe another 200lbs of 'stuff'. Thats about it. Maybe I could fill the water when I get where I'm going. I don't know. I'm just trying to put a plan together and I really appreciated the advice from you guys with experience. My wife and I have wanted to try this for a long time but I don't want a bad experience. We'll be pulling this thing 300 miles one way.

Chuck

DARLING

Just be carefull on your loading weight you are getting close....

200lbs can be eaten up quickly with groceries, (pantry & fridge), dishes, linens, clothing, personal toiletries

In addition you have to add the weight of water & sewer hoses, power cord, jack stands

Darlin

C Nash