A second spare tire on Travel Trailer Bumper

jumbo

Hi Everyone, Newbie here so please forgive my dumb question.

I have a 26ft travel trailer with one spare tire on the bumper (came factory installed, I think). I have purchased a second spare tire + wheel and I was thinking of buying a spare tire stand (Stromberg Carlson TR-1 or TR-2) and installing it on the same bumper. I don't know if it's a good idea? Can the bumper handle the weight? The shipping weight of the tire+wheel was 38.8 lbs.

Please guide me.

C Nash

I had rather have the extra weight on the tongue if possible. Doubt that the extra 45 lbs will make much difference on the bumper. i would have to look at how the bumper is mounted before i could recommend. Why 2 spares?? Welcome to the forum

jumbo

Hi C Nash. Thanks for your reply. I had a blowout on the freeway a little while ago. We pulled over and changed the tire. Once we started again after changing the tire, I realized that at that time I had no more spare tires and I was a good 110 miles away from home. It was not a comfortable drive in my mind. What if another tire blows (although what are the chances)? So, I got a second spare tire/wheel and stored it inside the rv, under my master bed. At this time I have a need to use that storage for other stuff, hence the need to put this spare tire somewhere else. On the tongue, the spare tire would be in the way of the weight distribution system. I tried to hold the tire in every which way possible that I could think of. In each case, it would interfere with the weight distribution.

I have a standard bumper 4in .W x 4in. H x 8ft L. No modifications made. Trailer is in storage right now, so i don't have access for taking pictures.

Thanks for your help. I appreciate it.

C Nash