Allison mt647 delayed start

emtff105

Hello all! I am new to this message board. I work at a fire department in Maine. we have an International fire truck chasis with an Allison mt647 transmission and this is one of the few forums where i have found posts about this same transmission. we are experiencing an issue that i believe is related to the transmission and am looking for help. we have a key that powers everything up on the chasis.....then a push button that starts the truck. the problem we are having is after the truck sits awhile(a couple of days) and you push the start button nothing happens......if you hold the button in for upwards of ten seconds it sometimes starts. occasionally we have to push the button several times before the truck starts.....and there has been a couple of occasions where it doesnt start at all. with little diagnostic info available to us we ran a wire from the push button directly to the starter solenoid and the truck now starts every time. wondering if anyone has ever seen this problem....seems like something in the transmission or module not working correctly.....HELP! :question: :question: :question:

dbarton291

RE: Allison mt647 delayed start

emtff105 - 1/10/2009 5:14 PM