alternative propane heater

rddog8691

I was at Harbor Freight today and they have a vent free propane heater the type you would mount on a wall in your house, says it will heat up to 300 sqf. Do you think this would work in a class a motorhome to supplement the furnace heat. Also would it be safe to use this without any windows open. I though the meaning of vent free or ventless meant it would be safe. Any info or opinions. :)

TexasClodhopper

Re: alternative propane heater

I don't know how safe they are but some people at this site have some good questions.

Other than it can use all the oxygen up in a small room for combustion, could release CO and does increase humidity, they do seem to warm the air in the room. :clown:

cdude

RE: alternative propane heater

John, I have no experience with this product, but found what seems to be the same product on the web at

http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_6970_200307979_200307979.

There are 12 Northern Tool customer product reviews at this site and overall they seem to be favorable. Unit has an O2 sensor which shuts-off when O2 gets too low. One review did not vote for wall mount if you want heat at floor level.

For what it is worth.

rddog8691

cdude, i checked the northern tool site and that is the same type of unit and now that you mention it the one at harbor freight did have an o2 sensor that shuts it down. I am just discuraged with the furnace in my rv and thought i would try to supplement it i do alot of boondocking so it has to be propane.If it was only me in the rv i would buy one of these units but with my two kids sleeping in there i worry.

Pancanbob

Hi, John
Just a thought :) ; CO is a heavy gas :eek: , and would settle to the floor then build up :dead: .
If the O2 sensor is in the heater and it is mounted on the wall higher then your head.
You may not have enough Oxygen, and the Heater’s sensor would not know it :dead: :dead: :dead: .