back up camera

pbasenior

I just purchased a 2001 Safari Panther. My backup camera does not work. I was told (by the dealership where purchased) this is because it doesn't work with an HD TV. The dealership doesn't know much about the Safari line of motor coaches. I am new to the class A world, but this doesn't sound right. Any help would be appreciated.

TexasClodhopper

Re: back up camera

Fred, what TV are you looking at while you are backing up? You should be looking at a monitor on your dash. That monitor is only going to be a video monitor. Video is NOT HD in any way, shape or form.

By the way, an HD TV also has video inputs.

Your dealer is blowing smoke.

utmtman

You got that right tex, I think his dealership tech has been smoking somethin funny. If your backup camera is not working than either you camera is out or the monitor is out. Does your monitor come on when you turn it on or stay black?

C Nash

Welcome to the forum Fred. That tech should be smoking out both ears, mouth and you know where.
Hope that was not Rod told him that :eek: :laugh: :clown: ;) So does this mean I have to get a converter for my back up camera :eek:

G

now ,, nash u know that u need a coverter for u'r back up camera ,, how else would it work off 120 volts ???? :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: ;) :eek: :evil: :clown: :clown:

ironart

Sounds like he doesn't have a complete "rear View camera system"....(could be missing the monitor)
Monitor should come on when the selector is placed in Reverse as well as the camera....an only then.
Most operate on 12 volts and would not require a converter.....

The correct procedure is to turn the engine on.....Place the selector in Reverse (Rear View system comes on) and view the monitor.....
Once you leave Reverse....The system shuts down....