battery problems

malcolm

I'm new to the rv world and have a Prowler trailer and was wondering if there is a battery charger in this thing. My battery keeps going dead.

H2H1

I don't think so, unless a solar panel was installed for thar purpose. I have one on my MH to charge the house batteries. Now if the batteries keep dieing, then there is a draw on it/them. I once found mt radio was on, but the volume was turned down. ALos look for a light.lights being on. If you have lights in the storage bins, go check them out. If all 12 v appliances are off, then charge the batteries and don't hook them up and see how long the charge last. Then do the same with the batteries charged and connect back up to the Camper and see how long it takes to discharge.Another way is with a fully charge batteries go to your power panel and cut one circuit off and watch the batteries draw, if nothing happen turn that back on and do another circuit, do this till you find the draw, this way you see where it is coming from and go find the draw.

I am no way an expert these are some tings I would do. I know there are some experts on here that may offer a better way to go,,

GOOD LUCK

akjimny

Hi Malcolm and welcome to the RVUSA Forum. Your trailer should have a battery charger built into the power convertor. When you plug the trailer into shore power, the convertor runs all the 12 volt lights and appliances, provides 120 volts to any wall outlets, and charges the battery. The battery will also receive a charge from the trailer-to-tow vehicle connection while the tow vehicle engine is running.

Unfortunately, both of these methods of charging the house battery are pretty slow, and power convertors are notorious for not powering down once the house battery is charged and end up cooking it (boiling the battery dry).

You didn't say how old your battery was. House batteries are only good for 5 to 7 years even in the best circumstances.