cant\'t figure out generator power

thelmanj

I am new to rvs. bought a 1988 georgie boy cruise air ll. can't figure out how to switch motorhome to generator power. My generator runs, but electrical outlets don't seem to work. Is there some magical switch I need to hit so the power is switched over . :(

Quarlo

Re: cant\'t figure out generator power

I am new to RVs as well so take the following with a grain of salt ... When purchasing my 2001 Dutchmen I encountered the same problem. The seller noted that a similar problem had been addressed at some point in the past by toggling all circuit breakers. In our case, however, this did not result in any change and the seller had to take it to a generator repair company to fix the problem before I bought. AFAIK there is no "toggle to generator power" switch, but mine is a Class C, not an A. Hopefully someone can add more/definitive info and help you get your gen power back w/o a trip to a repair center (and possibly enlighten both of us on the operational particulars ;).

Q

brodavid

Welcome to the forum to you both, Debbie and Q,
give the group a few days and the answer most of the time comes thru

LEN

Welcome to both,
There are about three ways the gen power gets switched from shore power to the gen.
1. The shore power cord is plugged into a box that is gen power.
2. There is a switch in the breaker box that is shore power or gen power.
3. There is a switch over box that senses gen power and makes the switch.
The first two are a manual you must do it. The third is automated and will happen a couple minutes after the gen is started and stablizes.
Also check on the gen that the beakers are in the on position and on the inverter that the breakers there are also on.

LEN

Quarlo