diesel or gas

poconut

I am new to rving I am trying to make a choice between a diesel or a gas rv I am buying a used unit, any and all responces would be greatly appeciated as my dang head is spinning from reading all the pro's and cons for each, so I decided to ask the pro's you fine people on this forum. Thank you for your responces.
Joe Mecus

C Nash

Re: diesel or gas

Welcome to the forum Joe. A lot depends on how much traveling you plan on. The diesel will handle and ride better and size to size get better MPG. The diesel tends to have more power and CCC. Course power will depend on engine size. Having said that I have a gasser and have been pleased with it. The diesel will run higher in dollars and more expensive for repairs if you have any IMO. Really just which you like best and which will serve you and your type travels. Do a search on pro and cons and you will find plenty on both. Good luck and let us know what you get.

Shorty

poconut
put 112k miles on a gasser with family in tow. we had a blast and were closer to each other with each trip and I was happy.
got a diesel and have started to roll up the miles with the family...still having a blast, family happy, I'm happy
I remember asking the same thing...for every pro there is a con
kinda like asking; Betty or Veronica?
MaryAnn or Ginger?
only my 2 cents
I do agree with Chelse tho...$$ & miles does make a difference

Triple E

I have a diesel. Have had gas, V-10. I will stay with diesel. The main reasons; better mpg, power and the big reason is the "Jake Brake". Going down some of these mountain passes will leave your figures squeezing the steering wheel and the wife wanting to get out and walk. With the Jake brake I am alot more comfortable, my brakes do not get hot and the wife is reading her book. JMO. ;)

C Nash