Dually

DCLC

Posted this in another forum but thought I'd post it here too. Looking at a 5th wheel. I have seen an F350 diesel, but it's not a dually. Am I limiting myself by not getting a dually. Cons are the cost and traveling to Walmart 8 months out of the year in a dually. Is there a stability issue. I've heard anything over 30' should be pulled by a dually.

Saltty

Re: Dually

Was a camper owner to years with a dually and now have a trailer. Yes the gas is a problem but you will be much happier with how it will handle your 5th wheel ....I'm a auto-hauler by trade, I watch some of these knot-heads pull a 35' 5th wheel with a 1/2 ton .....in a cross wind,oh man! :eek:

krsmitty

Re: Dually

Only get a dually if needed. I tow a 31' 5er with a srw and have no problems with stability. My parents are full timers and have had SRW up to 40' with no stability problems. They did get a dually last year, but only because of the weight of their new 5er.

5thWheeler

RE: Dually

Does anyone have experience with a rear tire blowing out without dual tires when pulling a 5th wheel trailer? If yes, were you able to get the rig pulled over safely and what length of trailer were you towing?

5thWheeler

chevman

We would not tow anything over 32ft using a srw pickup. Dually for us just because of it is a better tow truck.
chevman

Attachments

• conv_3.jpg
    conv_3.jpg
    93.7 KB · Views: 0

Grandview Trailer Sa

It is NOT a "better" tow truck....My SRW GMC 3500 is rated to to tow a 16,500 5th wheel... newer trucks are rated higher. Everyone wants to know about blowing a rear tire....I always ask...supposed you blow a front tire?

4 tires will give you better gas mileage, better traction, and less costs at tire replacement times. I have had LOTS of duallys in the past....dont need one now.

chevman