electrical

kburnsmill

Good morning to everyone;
I'm new to RVing and would like some advice. I have a new travel trailer and I am somewhat confused by the electrical system. How does the electrical system work as far as when the batteries are running the trailor and when the power from an outlet is running the trailor? Is there a way to switch which power the trailor is using?

chevysabre

RE: electrical

The battery will run the water pump and most of the lights in the camper so if you dont have power you can be self sufficent. when you plug the trailer in everything is taken over by the service you are plugged into. you wont have to do anything to switch it over.

TexasClodhopper

Re: electrical

Tim is correct. My RV lights all run off of the battery. When there is AC from the park that I am plugged into, the 'converter' recharges the battery as you are using it. There is no switch for this.

It depends on your model whether you have any lights that run directly on AC.

You won't be able to use big items like the air conditioner (A/C) or microwave unless plugged in, because they don't run off of your battery (although they need a functioning battery to operate.) The same goes with your propane heater if it's fan runs on AC. Usually a TV is also AC only, but there are DC (battery) TVs in some models.

There's probably more items, but I can't think of any right now.

wvcamper

RE: electrical

Look at it this way...
When you are running off your batteries (dry camping), the only thing you are supplying power to is lights, water pump, possibly a electronic ignition for your refrigerator stove and hot water tank. etc...
Your Air Conditioner, TV, microwave, receptacles, etc. require 110 volts AC and will not work.

For simplicity sake, think of the convertor charger as nothing more than a 12 volt DC power supply.