ford 460 gas

dr drive

We are looking at a 95 georgie boy crusie air with the ford 460. I am moving from tag behind to Motor home..I am hearing that fords arent as dependable? I am an old camaro 427 man and I have found a really good deal..on this home. Are there things I should look for beside the engine issues? I am new to this....been camping 25 years.

H2H1

Re: ford 460 gas

well welcome to the forum. I have a chevy 8.1, so I don't know anything about fords, but there are a few on here who does. So hang around and you will get your answer(s)

G

well i have a 92 MH with a 460 ford ,, and as of yet not a prob ,, but ck and see if it was well maintained ,, that will be the biggy ,, and BTW ,, i moved down from a DP to a gas unit ,, but IMO very good move ,, gas is cheaper ,, NOW :laugh: :approve: :approve:
oh yea ,, btw ,, i am a die hard chevy fan ,, all i own except for 2 veihicles is built by GM ,, and i own a drag car ,, and it is 100 % GM :approve: :cool: :cool: :cool:

C Nash

Ronnie the old ford 460 was a tough engine and I'm a chevy person. Just look for the same thing you would on any gas engine. How many miles on the engine and has it had proper maintaience? The Ford chassis was a good chassis in that time frame IMO. I have the V10 Ford and it has been great for the 40k we have on it. The 460 will be a gas guzzler.

topdownman

RE: ford 460 gas

I've got a Ford 460 in my 95 Holiday Rambler. It's a great motor and I like it better than the 454 Chevy that was in my previous motorhome. The F53 chassis is much better and the handling is great. I've had no problems with my 460 and I've got 90,000 miles. The only issue that I've heard of is they are prone to cracking exhaust manifolds. :approve:

normb

RE: ford 460 gas

Hi,