How much do you know?

recall1

I'm a long time tent and car camper and have been looking for an older rv for quite a while. I'm no mechanic but I'm a good carpenter and I'm also pretty good with fiberglass. I have a good friend that can help on the mechanical end though. My question is this: I found a guy at work that has had a 1989 Holiday Rambler Monitor GL (i believe it's 33'), chevy drivetrain with 454 motor. Not bad shape for it's year although it has two roof leaks, one near the a/c unit and one by a vent in the bathroom. I went to see it today but it hasn't been run in a year so the battery is dead. My plan was to put in a new battery and fresh oil before attempting to start it, then I'll know more about how it drives. My plan for the roof was to put a fresh coat of liquid rubber roof over the whole thing and fix the individual interior panels that were damaged. The owner drained all of the tanks prior to parking it so there shouldn't be any leaks but I will check. We didn't discuss price yet (until I get it started) but knowing the guy and the situation I should be able to get it pretty cheap. I guess my questions are what else do I need to look for and does anyone out there have any history with these models that can help me out? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Wyotraveler

I can only speak about the 1989 chev P30 454 chassis. The box on mine was a Fleetwood Pace Arrow 34 ft.