I WONDER

I AM THINKING ABOUT RETIRING AND BUYING A PUSHER. IS THIS CRAZY AT THIS TIME DUE FUEL COSTS,US ECONOMY
I HAVE A NEED TO TRAVEL AND SEE THE COUNTRY BEFORE MY RECALL DATE.I HAVE BEEN LOOKING AT PUSHERS FOR 5 YRS.
AM NOT AWARE OF REAL COSTS ON THE ROAD,E G FLAT TIRES REPAIRS TOWING INS. I AM A COMPLETE NOVICE . ANY COMMENTS PHILLY BOY.

C Nash

Re: I WONDER

Welcome to the forum Phillip. Caps make for hard reading and are considered shouting so turn caps off unless it is eaiser for you. Well some of us are hard hearing. :laugh: If you are approaching rving with the thought you will save money forget it. :eek: . Just like any hobbie or way of life it's not free. A diesel pusher is the way to go if you will be really putting the miles on IMO. I have a gasser and it serves us well. The diesel will have more torque, ride better and most handle better than gassers. Servicing the diesel cost more IMO. Tires have to be replace ever 5 to 7 years on any rv regardless of tread left. You need to keep a road service policy such as Good Sam, AAA etc. Some like the extended warranties that will repair appliances, motors, trans but they can be expensive. One fridge , motor or trans replacement would make it worthwhile. Insurance on the MH can be expensive as well as tags but differs from state to state. If you are able to do most miner upkeep and repairs you will save a bundle.

onthecoach

Hi Philly Boy,

Welcome to the forum...as C Nash stated above, this is not the least expensive way of living, but it sure is fun!! Since you have been researching for 5 years, you should have a pretty good idea of what you want and what you need. Fuel will always be a challenge...just need to be judicial about your travels. Maybe spending more time in some places. Maybe you have enough $$$ set aside to just drive and travel the entire time.