Mouse-Proofing

saintanne

Ok....

We're facing the inevitable reality of having to park "Old Nellie", our '79 Tioga class C, in storage for the winter. Oh yes, we're adventurous and all, but not adventurous enough to camp in -20 degree Wisconsin weather. So, I guess I'm looking for advice from the "experts", or at least the experienced, on how best to prep the rv for the winter. Any and all pointers you can share would be appreciated!

I have free outdoor storage available at a friend's farm. The problem is, it has a reputation for having mice. Since we just rebuilt the rv and replaced the carpets, paneling, etc, I don't have much desire for an infestation.

Any thoughts?

As a newbie, I am interested in any small bits of advice others have accumulated over their years about issues related to storage....

Thanks millions, RV junkies! (In the most affectionate of tones, of course!)

sa

TexasClodhopper

Re: Mouse-Proofing

Mike, getting mice in an RV is just about like having a burglar break in and trash the place. You just won't be able to stand it (and perhaps a spouse will have more to say. :clown: )

Avoid that situation at any cost.

Also, do a Search here (in the upper left of the page) for "mice mouse".

Here's a search of the forum that goes back two years.

Grandview Trailer Sa

I had mice get in a truck one time. I took dryer sheets and hung them under the hood. NO more mice. They hate the smell of dryer sheets. Take some and put in cabinets, tie them to springs underneath and I bet they will leave you alone.

elkhartjim

Probably a good idea Ken but wonder how long they would last? Might have to replace ever few _______.

Kirk

Stuff steel wool into any openings where things penetrate the exterior of the RV. That is one of the few things that a mouse will not go through. If the space is subject to dampness, use one of the brass scouring pads as they will not rust. I keep one around my water hose when parked in winter as we are fulltime.