New to the forum...New to RVing..

MUDENG

I have been working in the oilfield for nearly 12 years and I have residing in these things for years, but never owned one. I started off purchasing a used 84 model Prowler (28') bumper pull and through the process of getting this thing to the house, I have really gotten excited about using this mint conditioned old RV to get my wife interested in the process. Any helpful towing tips or upkeep tips are appreciated.

Thanks

C Nash

Welcome to the wonderful world of rving Mudeng :approve: . Be sure you have the proper tow vehicle and tow equipment to tow the Prowler. Use a load leveling hitch and sway bar. Check the tires for age and replace if they are 5 to 7 yr old regardless of tread. Weight the Prowler fully loaded. Easy to overload and cause major problems. Keep close watch for water leaks. A water leak can destroy them very quick. Need to reseal often. probably need to remove wheels and greese bearings. be sure trailer brakes are working. Hook rv up and stay in back yard for a couple nights and ck all electrical, heating, plumbing.

hertig

Yes correct hitch is absolutely key when towing a 'bumper pull'. An alternative to the standard hitch is one by 'PullRite' which claims to make a travel trailer ride like a fifth wheel, and be easier to hook up to boot.

MUDENG

I have managed the sway and two bars along with the hitch. I am pulling with a 2005 Ford 4 dr. 4X4 with a 5.4 L V8. I have replaced all four tires and probably taking it to the shop to repack the bearing before I take it 440 miles to my hunting lease south of Sweetwater, TX. I am still a little unsure about the septic (upkeep and discharging), and the use of the water tanks (no instructions with this rascal).

C Nash