new travel trailer / fiberglass vs aluminum?

browercreed

I'm trying to decide on a travel trailer to live in for a few months until I can get
settled in another town. No one wants to rent an apartment for a few months,
so this will be the next best thing. I'm searching for a used one, but there are so
many and I have no experience with travel trailers. I understand fiberglass will
be easier to haul, heat and cool, but I have found an aluminum one I dearly love.
Can anyone enlighten me on these. I will be using it in very cold weather for
awhile so I can use all the advice I can get! Is there any such thing as an
"insulation rating" given to trailers or are they all the same? I plan to sell this
trailer in about a year, so I want to buy one that is going to sell fairly easily.
As you see I have many questions.

ARCHER

Re: new travel trailer / fiberglass vs aluminum?

Welcome. Look up the trailer you like and see what the wintering value is. Also, don't forget to make sure that the pipes and tanks are warmed for wintering via the furnace and that they have plenty of insulation. Just how cold is it going to get? Some trailers you don't want to even attemp to live in in "cold" climits. Do you have someth ing ot pull it with? Check y our weights for towing. Read a lot of the posts on this site for great info and other guidance. You may need to do search for what y our looking for.

C Nash

What brand are you looking at? Fiberglass in most cases but not always is easier to heat and cool IMO. The fiberglass will not be easier to haul because generally fiberglass is heavier than aluminum. All depends a lot of the brand and year. Some newer rvs will give the insulation ratings but would be hard to determin on older models. Welcome to the forum

browercreed

I'm not even looking at anything older than 2005. The one I have found is a 2007 Keystone V1 - it is fiberglass; and the one