Newmar rv for full timing

bpe

Would anyone recommend a Torey Pine or Country Aire for full timing? Looking at used. Wife and I plan to be in unit for around 10 years. I'm a construction welder and chase shutdowns. Looked at Teton and Travel Spreme and would have to go 7 or 8 years old to justify price. Wonder how Newmar stacks up.

DL Rupper

Re: Newmar rv for full timing

Newmar's don't seem to have many complaints. I'd look at Carraige or HitchHiker and SunnyBrook also. My HitchHiker II is going on 15 years old and still holding together.

bpe

Thanks, DL. I looked at a HitchHiker and was impressed by the quality of it but it had a strong mildew odor. Hadn't seen a SunnyBrook. Didn't know about them.

bpe

I also checked out Excel. On their website the r rating is actually lower than a Newmar. Excel rating is r7 in the walls and r14 in roof and floors. Newmar's is r11 in walls, r26 in floors and r22 in roof, yet Excel brags about being able to withstand -10 with dual pane windows. It is built with wood studs instead of aluminum. The Excel appears to be better built but with less standard insulation. I will be going in rather cold climates. Stay away as much as possible but if that's where the money is, I'm going. This seems a contradiction for a high end rv.

Kirk

I think that you will find that Newmar has about as good a reputation as any of the manufacturers. They are a family owned company and seem to be one of the strongest still in the business.

KateyJ

RE: Newmar rv for full timing

I'm considering a Newmar 5er also. I know it has aluminum studding in the walls -- how does that not create a problem with condensation and resulting delaminating of the fiberglass, that I've read about on other threads? When does having aluminum in the walls or roof cause that problem, when doesn't it? thanks.