Problem with Generator

Discussion in 'Talkback' started by sarose, Jul 14, 2009.

1. sarose

sarose New Member

Hi,
    My husband and I just purchased a 1995 Gulfstream Ultra Supreme. The motor home has 23800 miles and the generator (Generac 4500 watts) has 32 hours on it and it is in prestine condition. When we start up the generator all of the lights work fine, but when we turn on the AC or the microwave it makes the generator surge. We've checked the air filter and sparkplug and they are both good. What could be the problem? It seems like the generator isn't putting enough energy out to run the AC or microwave, but the 4500 watt capacity should be more than enought to run both.

THANKS!! :)

2. rddog8691

rddog8691 Member

Re: Problem with Generator

I am not a generator expert but what you are experiencing is normal, as far as i know when you turn on your AC or Micro it is drawing alot of power, you will porobably find that you cant use both together , I think it is just that your genset is working OT to put out enough juice. You should post this in General RVing and someone who knows more than me will give you an answer. There are alot of knowledgable people on this forum. Good Luck :)

3. TexasClodhopper

TexasClodhopper Senior Member

Staci, welcome to the forum!

No need to repost it anywhere. Once is enough.

John is correct, but what do you mean by "surge?" Do you mean that it sounds like it is running faster or there is an actual 'surge' in voltage?

4. sarose

sarose New Member

RE: Problem with Generator

There is an acutal surge in power... The lights dim and the generator slows, then the lights brighten and the generator speeds up... it's a cycle. It's a 4500 watt generator so it should be able to power the microwave, right? I don't run the AC and the microwave at the same time.

5. elkhartjim

elkhartjim Senior Member