Propane Tank

Middiedad65

Please forgive my apparent stupidity but I am new to RV's. I recently bought a 1990 Class C Coachmen. I was asking someone at a local hardware store that sells propane about getting it filled there. His reply was, "as long as it's less than 12 years old we can fill it". The date on the tank is 1990, the same as the rest of the RV. Is there a law I should know about? Do I have to replace the tank? If I do, how much is that going to cost me?

Thanks in advance
Art Conley
Dracut MA

LEN

Re: Propane Tank

I just did a google on the subject because I have never heard such a thing. I'm calling BS on this as I only found 1 reference to age and it was stated that 12 year old tank were considered to old to replace valves to the new ones and the cost was about the same as a new tank.
Couldn't find reference to any regulation on propane tanks and age. I know they don't need a hydro test as 250# is still low pressure not like scuba at 3000-4000 psi.
Find an other dealer.

LEN

Grandview Trailer Sa

The guy at the Hardware store is correct when talking about tanks on Travel Trailers and Fifth Wheels. They have to be re-certified and dated every 12 years. Actually some tanks have stamped on them, every 10 years. They also have to have the OPD valves.

NOW, this is on a MH and I don't think the same law applies. Since I don't sell MH's I am not that familar.

Middiedad65

RE: Propane Tank

Thanks guys. I think he is mistaken. I'm just going to drive it to the nearest RV service location to get it filled.

LEN

I did find this

(i) A DOT specification 4B, 4BA, 4B240ET or 4BW (Secs. 178.50, 178.51,
178.55 and 178.61 of this subchapter) cylinder may be retested as
follows:
(A) For a cylinder with a water capacity of 12 pounds or less by
hydrostatic test using the water jacket method or by hydrostatic test
without determination of expansion (modified hydrostatic test method). A
retest must be performed 12 years after the original test date and at