RV buying help

Ambrosia

I am completely new to RVing and have recently begun searching for a used RV to buy.
I am planning on traveling with one other person and my cat for at least several months. It seems the best fit for our needs would either be a camper van or a class C vehicle. I like the idea of the class C because it would be more likely to offer a shower and toilet and would also be more spacious but I like campervans (specifically the older VW campers) because they seem easier to maneuver with less blindspots and more clearance to go more in the mountains instead of being confined to pavement.
Seeing as how I've never even slept in an RV I don't know what sort of things I need to watch out for while looking at older used vehicles.
How does one keep a class C's shower and toilet functioning and what do campsites need to have?
When looking at older used vehicles, aside from all the general mechanics of the driving part, what sort of things do I need to watch out for on the inside?
Is a generator necessary or just very beneficial?
Are there certain brands to stay away from, or brands that are more reliable?
Should one generally avoid vehicles that are 30+ years old?
What are some of the more expensive repairs/replacements? (ex. was looking at a '69 winnebago that might need work on a furnace and hot water heater)
With 0 experience, any advice I can get would be so appreciated, I feel like I'm going into a fistfight blindfolded.

akjimny

Re: RV buying help

Hi Ambrosia and welcome to the forum. You have posed a number of questions here, so I will try to break them down and handle them one at a time.