RVing with Pets

Linda&Charles

I am new here and I bet this has been discussed - We will be driving from Alaska to Oregon in early summer 2014 on a move out. After a short stay in Oregon and store our belongings we will take off around the US. I'm thinking, depending on weather a southern route , up the east coast to NE, then back out west to Oregon seeing relatives and friends and sights. I would enjoy getting off the beaten trail since I have driven the main interstates so many times - been there seen that. We will be hauling a medium sized RV and looking at purchasing when we sell our home in the next couple of months.

We will have our 3 dogs. 2-9 yr old medium to large mixes (non-bull breeds though that whole restriction makes me pretty angry) and a young Lab. All are extensively trained, I am a trainer, though we have lived far from neighbors other than large wildlife, so on going training will prevail. I do know how to keep them quiet and under control at all times. I'm finding a lot of differences in places as far as restrictions. For the most part the most simple camp sights outside of metro areas will be fine. We are two 60 years old,no kids, and would not use a lot of amenities except on occasion to do laundry and relax. So we aren't looking for a place with a lot of "family activities".

The places we will want to visit are: From Oregon -Austin, Texas-Baton Rouge,La- Lancaster, Pa-Philadephia- Cape May NJ, upstate NY, Southern Ontario. Then we head back. Devils Tower, Wall Drug, Deadwood/Mt Rushmore are on the list. Then genealogical research in Eastern Oregon in the Baker area. And anything interesting in-between. We may also need to kennel the dogs if there is a ball game, car race, or metropolitan excursion we want to take.

I am an artist and I will be keeping a journal in photos, artwork and writing especially concentrating on traveling with our "pack". It should be interesting.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

KarenS144