Stupid Electrical Question

susanmont

I am new to the RV world so here is a stupid question. My electrical system does not work right now but a friend backed his truck to the RV, hooked it up and everything worked. What does he have on his truck that would do that? And is there a portable version of this --- beside a generator? I have a generator, but it does not work the battery side of the camper. (The generator is only working the 110 side)

Thanks

Susan

H2H1

Hi Susan, well it sounds like to me it may be your truck. If it works with the friends truck and not yours, it must be yours. Now does the lights work when sitting and not connected to a truck or power source? if not sounds like a fuse or a bad battery(ies) OR CONNECTIONS, try cleaning the battery cable connections and see if that helps.
remember all the lights work off 12 volts, the fans work off 12 v. ac 120v. microwave 120v.

keep us informed if you find the problem.

TexasClodhopper

Susan, what do you mean "... everything worked...."? If you mean that your 12v battery powered lights work with a vehicle plugged into the RV, then that vehicle is supplying the 12v battery power from its battery through the cord that your friend hooked up to his vehicle.

You may not even have a battery installed in your RV.

susanmont

H2H1;83570 said:
Hi Susan, well it sounds like to me it may be your truck. If it works with the friends truck and not yours, it must be yours. Now does the lights work when sitting and not connected to a truck or power source? if not sounds like a fuse or a bad battery(ies) OR CONNECTIONS, try cleaning the battery cable connections and see if that helps.
remember all the lights work off 12 volts, the fans work off 12 v. ac 120v. microwave 120v.

keep us informed if you find the problem.