Towing no weight distribution bars

rwc454

Hello everyone, Iv'e researched on towing with/without a weight distribution set up. Still have many :question: :question: :question: . I'm getting ready to buy a Sunline 23ft 94 model. The people I'm buying from said they towed the camper with a V6 Ford Explorer with only a sway bar :eek: :eek: :eek: . I have a full size Chevy Tahoe 5.3 V8 Tow PKG. Am I over doing it with the whole weight distribution thing. The GVWR of the camper is 4400lbs. My Tahoe has a CGVWR of 13,800. Advice, experinces would be appreciated.

sp

Ron,

I'm pretty new with campers and towing but here is what I know.

I towed a 21' 1976 Shasta weighing roughly 6000# with an F150 and a weight distribution set up. It was a 4 hour ride from CT to the races in NH and I had to keep looking in my mirrors to make sure it was still there. ;) I was surprised how smooth it towed.

All I here is the new light weight campers(TT)dance around due to the lack of weight and that they should have a stabilizing/weight distribution set up on them.

A couple of years back I saw a brand new light weight TT laying against a guard rail with a full sized Chevy flipped on its roof. :eek: I don't know what happened to it but the thought always reminds me to be extra carefull when I hook mine up and go.

Steve

rpalmer

Hi! :cool:
If the tongue weight of the trailer is higher than the hitch weight of the vehicle then you need a weight distribution hitch.