Towing with a minivan

hoover

Hi there,

I'm brand new to both this forum and RVing. My wife and I are considering buying a used Viking tent trailer. We have 3 small children and were avid tent campers before they came along, so we figure a tent trailer will allow us to start enjoying camping again.

my question - does anyone out there tow a tent trailer with a base model minivan? we have a 2000 Caravan Sport with a 6.6L V6. The owners manual indicates a 1800lb maximum towing capacity and the Viking we're looking at is listed at 2200lb axle weight. I've never towed anything before, so I was wondering if anyone knows if these owner's manual figures are hard and fast rules or simply guidelines. Also, are they based on safety considerations or to prevent damaging the vehicle.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

SQWIB

Towing with a minivan

Have you found anyone to help you. Im in the same boat I think you can get a tow package installed by your car dealer

hertig

Towing with a minivan

It used to be that the factory towing weight was misleading. They took the GCWR (maximum of vehicle and trailer and all contents) and subtracted out the stripped vehicle weight (weight of tow vehicle with no accessories, no cargo, no passengers, a 150 pound driver and a small amount of gas.