Travel trailer or Motorhome?

anamarie

I am looking for feedback from folks who have owned both types. Which do you prefer and why? Pros and Cons? I am just beginning my search for info, i have spent hours and hours already, attempting to narrow down my choice. I am leaning towards a TT small enough that my blazer can tow (4 wheel drive)... i would not want to give up my blazer if i can help it (shes been real good to me). I like the idea that i can park,detach TT and go blazin some trails, but then... i also like the idea of one self contained unit, but then... i like the idea of putting it on my own land (as a guest cottage)... I did think briefly, about adding an custom extension to my blazer, but yeah... i would need a crew and an excessive amount of money, to pull that one off, (my cerebral wheels spin abit askew sometimes)... this is why i need feedback from experienced folks. I dont know anyone who has done this, i think my friends/family may want to talk me outta this, so... i cant ask them. I sure would appreciate any ideas you may have to offer. Thanks in advance:indecisiveness:

akjimny

Hi Anamarie and welcome to the RVUSA Forum. I have had camper vans (homemade), a travel trailer, and now a motorhome and they all have their advantages and disadvantages. With a TT you can park, unhook and go off exploring in your tow vehicle without any problems. With a motorhome, unless you pull a "toad" (another vehicle), you have to disconnect from everything at the campground before you go exploring, and in some cases, may lose your campsite. Another disadvangtage of a motorhome is finding a parking spot when you want to stop a look at something, especially if you are towing a toad.