What Truck to buy and what 5th wheel?

Paul Young

I am brand new to the RV world. Have enjoyed camping for years, but always outdoors or in a tent. I am 53 now and my wife and I are looking into purchasing a new truck, and a used 5th wheel.
I have done a fair amount of investigating on the web and talking to folks who have RVs.
My main concern is what truck to buy?
Most have told me to go with the old reliable 3/4 ton GM or Dodge.
But, I am one of those guys who keeps his vehicle forever.
I do not want to purchase a truck that is cumbersome to drive all over town, and will double as a family vehicle as well. My wife will be driving this thing half the time each day as well. So, comfort and ease of handling are an issue.
What I like is the Titan, or Tundra. The model I would like to get will have four doors and most likely a short bed. What I am hoping for is that one of these has enough of what it takes to haul a 5th wheel RV.
Some of the things I have leaned are: A short bed will be cause for a sliding hitch.
The Titan and Tundra do not have enough power or weight to handle the larger 5th wheel RVs. And that is OK, I will just get a smaller version.
I do intend on renting a 5th wheel RV after I have purchased the truck to get a feel for things.
I guess what I am looking for is just some sound advise. If I should purchase one of these trucks, what kind of limitations do you think I will encounter?

I appreciate you time. Thanks paul

DL Rupper

Re: What Truck to buy and what 5th wheel?

Hey Paul, welcome to the forum. The Titan and Tundra are defiantly limited on what they can pull. Remember a loaded 5th wheel will added 2 to 4 K in weight to the dry weight of the RV. People always tend to overload them. I know my loaded weight of my Hitchhiker II, when I actually weighed it, was 1000 lbs more than I estimated and was 1,000 lbs over my 5th wheel recommended capacity.