Allison Transmission Questions

Robert G

quote:Originally posted by AllisonMan

Hi there. I have worked on Allison Transmissions for 27 years. If you have any questions, please post and I will check back once a week and try to answer them all. Thanks and have a great day! :)

Robert G

Hi.
New to this. I just bought a 1991 SportsCoach 35' with a 240HP Cummings and a Automatic MT643. It has a add on Jake Brake from the looks of the switch on the dash. My question is I know nothing about when to shift the transmission on hills at this time. Should I shift it or just leave it in drive and let it shift itself? Like i said i am new to all this. The jake brake I know nothing about so I just leave it off. I will be towing a 3500 lb car on a Dolly. I just took it to a RV sevice Center in Louisville KY and towing the car on the interstate the temp on the trans run about 200 to 250 from what I could tell. This was pulling the car and there were no big hills just small inclines. The trans seems to shift good and is very smooth. Going down a long hill should I shift it into a differant gear than drive? It has air brakes. Like i said I am new to this and like your site so I thought I would ask the Questions. I will be changing the trans fluid to Sys on the next service after reading about just changing the filter.
Thank Robertg

AllisonMan

OOfx,
Mounting the cooler in the rear is normal IF the too cooler line from the transmission goes to the radiator tank cooler first, out the radiator tank to the oil to air cooler, out this cooler to the external filter, then back to the transmission. AT 542 and AT545 will heat more without the lock-up feature. They are run by hydralics which cause heat instead of lockup which locks the engine to the transmission.
AT545 and 542 do not have much difference. The AT542 has a shallower pan than the AT545.