1966 Hi-Lo Trailer 14'

Hello all!
First post....I like this website....real slick....kudos to the webmaster.

Anyways, here is my question(s):
I have a 1966 Snyder Company Hi-Lo 14' Trailer...little guy, has queeen bed and a nice seat in the front, easily sleeps 4 with the bunk bed frame installed in the front. Gas furnace on the floor in the middle. Perfect condition except for the brakes....I have no clue what year/make/model these brakes are from....

I am just about to take one of the rims down to the tire store and get 3 new rims/tires for it, and was wondering if they are ie. Chevy 5 lug pattern, then the brakes are probably chevy truck brakes from 1966? or 1966 Ford if the lug pattern is Ford, and etc.?

Or could I just go to Napa with the knowledge that these are Ford 5 lugs, and bring a nice picture of the hub off and bring the old cylinder and a set of the worn out brake shoes? I'm new to this, don't know what to do....

Also, the brakes work with a master cylinder on the hitch piece, and are totally mechical...when you brake the van I have, the trailer's momentum pushes the master cylinder and thus stops the trailer with the enertia caused by braking the van. It's a nice little setup for a smaller trailer like this.

My question is, how do you bleed the brakes without taking the trailer to the mechanic? I've always had someone pump the brakes while I bleed the nipples on the cylinders/calipers...but you can't do that here...I was thinking using a jack with one end on the end of the front of the trailer, and the other end against something solid...but since I am so new to this, does anyone has any suggestions? Thanks!!!!!!

I'll post some pictures when I get my new digital camera in a couple of days.

Please respond to dogma420@hotmail.com if possible. Make sure subject doesn't look like spam....THANK YOU very much!

BarneyS

1966 Hi-Lo Trailer 14'