1973 Dodge Sportsman

hltomczak

HI! My husband and I just purchased our first moterhome today, a 1973 Dodge Sportsman. This is our first time getting into this area. It is a great buy and is in good condition except for a few spots. There was a leak in the window of the sleeping area above the cab. We were told it was fixed, but in cleaning it today I found that there was more damage then told to us. When I removed the plywood they had placed down, there was rotten wood. I now have to take out the rotten studs and part of the wall covering...any advice?

Also, the fridge works on gas but not on 110v. There is power to the outlet that the fridge is plugged into, anyone have any ideas as to what it could be?

My husband is a mechanic so he has some know-how of this stuff. I am a teacher and woodworker so I will be doing the inside work.

akjimny

Re: 1973 Dodge Sportsman

Hi Heather and welcome to the RVUSA Forum. I hope you got a really good deal on you motorhome, because it sounds like you've got some expensive work coming up. I recommend you look at the post Mike (aka Cougarkid) put up on his rebuild of his old motorhome. Or you could send him a private message. Rebuilding outside walls is not easy.

As for the fridge - is it getting 120 volts at the outlet? If not, you could have a blown fuse/thrown circuit breaker) If it is then you could have either a bad switch (gas to electric) or a bad controller board. If this is the original fridge, I would probably replace the whole thing.

I know this is not too much info nor too encouraging - but if you can do most of it yourselves, you will have a better understanding of your RV then most people. Again, welcome to the forum and keep us posted on how things go. :) :) :)

dragon

RE: 1973 Dodge Sportsman

Hi: