1998 Terry Fleetwood

tmnoffke

I am new to fifth wheeling and am looking at buying a brand new camper--2004 29BHSS Sierra platinum for $25,000. In the mean time this camper comes along the Fleetwood for $10,000 and in excellent shape. Have you heard anything good or bad about this camper??? And what would you suggest for this newbe??? New or used??? The model on the Fleetwood is #26-5t. Any comments welcome!!! Thanks Teresa :)

Gary B

1998 Terry Fleetwood

Hi Teresa, Welcome to the forum, I have no experience with that model but we had a 1994 Terry 5th wheel, and it was an excellent 5er, in fact we are seriously looking for another Terry with the floor plan we had.
In the line up of Fleetwood models is Pioneer, Mallard, Prowler, Wilderness, Terry and Avion.
One of the advantages of buying used (if you find a nice clean unit you like) it someone else has taken the big depresation hit. Thats a big difference in money and if the used unit is to your liking and is in good condition, it leaves a lot of money for camping. :) :laugh: :cool: :bleh: :approve:

tmnoffke

1998 Terry Fleetwood

Hi Gary--Thanks for the advise. Maybe I am researching too much, but I was reading on the Fleetwoods that the frames were/still are defective. Also, some people stated that the mid-late 90 models had problems with leaking. I am getting more confused as I go along in this process!!! Is there any good model that iis in the $20000 range??? Teresa

tmnoffke

1998 Terry Fleetwood

Thanks for the advise Gary!!! So you are saying that the Terry is at the bottom of the food chain??? I had read that the Fleetwoods in general have issues with frame integrity now and than. I also had heard that there are leakage problems in the mid-late 90's models. Did you ever have a problem??? This process is getting so confusing on which model to buy!!! Teresa

Ed H.

1998 Terry Fleetwood

Hi Teresa,