5th Wheel For Dodge 1500 Hemi 4-Door?

ruffup

Is it feasible or possible to pull a 5th Wheel with my new 1500 Dodge 2003 5.7 Hemi 4-Door Short Bed Truck.

If so, what are some recommendations? I'm new to RVing.

Would appreaciate help. In the latest Trailer Life magazine I saw a Dodge 1500 pulling a regular Tahoe Widelite 23' trailer... this got me interested in RVing.

I also saw a ad for a 5th Wheel Hitch for short box trucks that would actually glide back when making corners... this interested me also.

hertig

Yes, it is possible, with limitations.

Limitation 1) Weight. Your truck has a maximum gross weight, a maximum rear axel weight and a maximum combined weight (truck and trailer). Most of the trailers out there will cause you to exceed 1 or more of these limits, which is unsafe and unduely wearing on the truck. Furthermore, even if you are within the weight rating of your truck, small gas engines are not very good for pulling heavy weights up hills at highway speeds. In general, you will want to limit yourself to trailers whose gross weight is under 6000 pounds and dry weight under 4500 pounds. There is also some concern about mismatch in truck wheelbase and trailer length leading to poor handling and/or ride, but with the trailers you can pull weight wise (25' or less) this may not be a problem.

Limitation 2) Turning angle. With a short bed truck and a wide trailer, a sharp turn can cause the trailer to run into the cab of the truck, to the detriment of both. There are ways to overcome or reduce this, though. One is to get an extended pin box (one where the king pin is forward of the front of the trailer. This is simple and cheap, but only reduces the problem. You could get a narrower trailer, but that often will not be satisfactory due to lack of space. The last, as you mention, is a sliding hitch. Most 5th wheel hitches can be converted to a 'slider'.