american traveler?

oncloud9

Hi - I've rented a few times, but I'm new to the full-time lifestyle (and very excited and nervous at the same time - where do I put all my stuff??)

:question:

I recently bought an '89 35' American Traveler TT - I think the silver tag reads 'Park Model' - but it sure looks like a TT to me. I'd love to get some info on my new purchase, but can't even find the manufacturer online. I think they may now be called GDL Industries, but can find nothing further than this. This is my first RV and I'm totally in the dark - not sure how anything works and what basic maintenance is needed. I don't know if the fridge is elec or LP, where the fresh water tank is, if grey water drains separately from black/sewage...yikes! I'm looking forward to learning, but could use a little direction. I bought it from a guy who could only tell me that the heat and ac work. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

:laugh:

hertig

american traveler?

Yes, in every case I've heard of, there should be a separate tank for black water (toilet) and for gray water (everything else). There should be one discharge pipe (3"), and 2 valves leading into that. One of them is for the black tank (the bigger if they are 2 sizes) and the other for the gray tank.

Always dump the black tank first, then close that valve and dump the gray tank to flush out the pipe and the hose. It is best to not dump if either tank is less than half full, but of course you can do it if you need to. Just be aware that with insufficient water in the black tank, it may leave solids behind which can make concrete look wimpy :) And without enough gray water, your hose will be messy.