Arming one's self?

onthecoach

Hello All--

I am sure this is a very touchy subject, but the 'Other Half' and I are having quite a debate on this one.

He says, that even though he is against guns, since we are travelling and on the road all the time, we should be armed....we need to get one. I am afraid of what might happen if we go this route.

I am opposed to this idea, and since I have been Rving for over 10 years, I feel strongly that we can be safe as long as we are smart and careful.

Your thoughts??? :question:

ARCHER

Arming one's self?

There are rules regarding fire arms and RVing. They vary by state. Permits are not necessarily valid for all states. Foreign countries will possibly confiscate them and maybe even put you in jail (Mexico and Canada (Canada won't, but Mexico might). Plain ole common sense is smarter than thinking "I have a gun, so I'm safe". Unless your gonna put it in a holster and look like the Sheriff of Dodge City, you probably won't have time to go and get it to defend yourself anyway, and heaven forbid that you leave it laying around where who knows what might happen (children, older folks (like me), etc.). ;) Think about it long and hard and check the laws about it closely..... :question:

mking

Arming one's self?

Everybody has their reasons on carrying a firearm.Me personally its like my insurance policy.When I travel I don't leave home without it.But Archer is right.There is alot of laws out their and it varies from state to state.And I would say that 75% of the campgrounds you stay in prohibits firearms.But you don't have to advertise.Bottom line is if he's against it and has never owned a firearm he should take a safety/shooting/law course before he even thinks about buying.There is alot of liabilty and responsability of owning a firearm.Just some thoughts.

team3360

Arming one's self?