Backing a fifth wheeler

DCNKY

I have a 35ft fifth wheel rv and I must admit that I am a rookie at backing it up. Any advice from you gurus??? :cool:

G

RE: Backing a fifth wheeler

the only thing i can offer is this ,, find a empty parking lot somewhere ,, and if u can get some cones ,,or anything else ,, and set them up in kind of a tight arrangment ,, like parking in a campground spot ,, and go for it ,, the more u practice ,, the better u will get ,, u will get the hang of it ,, IMO :) :approve: ;) but i know others will put thier 2cents in on this ,, which is what this place is all about ,, learning ,, :approve: I forgot one other thing ,, Welcome to the forums ,, stick around ,, we do kinda know what we are talking about from time to time :laugh: :laugh: ;)

CharlieS

I have a travel trailer - not a 5th wheel, but I think the basics are the same.

Put your hand on the bottom of the steering wheel and move it in the direction you want the towed vehicle to turn. Watch the wheels of the towed vehicle in your side mirrors. Have a second person watching from behind and use hand held radios to communicate - this will eliminate any confusion caused by hand signals.

And as 730 said - practice.

H2H1

Re: Backing a fifth wheeler

remember your 5th wheel or any other tow vehicle will go in the opposite direction you turn your steering wheel. AND like Rod said practice practice practice and you will get the hang of it. Good luck :laugh:

JimE

Like Charlie said, whichever way the bottom of your steering wheel goes the trailer will go. This is a great tip to first timers. Dont worry before long you'll be whipping that thing in and out of tight spots like a pro.

DCNKY

Thanks guys......I'm heading for a parking lot as soon as I can get some cones! :)

sandie