DOOLEY OR SINGLE WHEEL PICK-UP

alwarner

I AM A NEWBIE AT PULLING A FIFTH - WHEEL, SO ANY SUGGESTIONS WILL HELP ME. WE JUST PURCHASED A NEW 34FT. FIFTH-WHEEL THE WEIGTH OF THE RIG LOADED FOR THE ROAD IS --- THE PIN WEIGHT IS 2,400 LBS. THE LOADED TRAILER IS 11,000 LBS. THESE WEIGHTS ARE APPROX. WE ARE GOING TO BUY A DIESEL/W AUTO. TRANS SO POWER ISN'T THE QUESTION. MY QUESTION IS " DO I NEED A DOOLEY ???? " THIS TRUCK WILL BE OUR MAIN VEHCILE USEING IT FOR SHOPPING AND STUFF AROUND TOWN. WE WILL BE TOWING ONCE A YEAR IN THE WINTER MONTHS TO TEX. FL. PLACES LIKE THAT. AND AROUND HOME ( MICHIGAN ) MAYBE 400 MILES ONE WAY A COUPLE TIMES A SUMMER. MY TRUCK WON'T BE SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY LIKE I SEE ALOT OF DOOLEYS DOING. MAYBE IT'S BECAUSE OF THE FUEL USAGE OR TO HARD TO PARK. BUT MY WIFE AND I WILL BE USEING OUR TRUCK . I AM OPEN FOR COMMENTS AND SUGGESTIONS ON WHAT I SHOULD BUY A SINGLE WHEEL OR DOOLEY?????

hertig

The advantage of the dually is that it will handle more weight. If single wheels won't handle your weight with a comfortable safety margin, a dually is perhaps your best choice. The down side is you need to buy and maintain 2 more tires per set, and the maintenance (setting air pressure and changing tires) will probably be more difficult (although accessories are available to help out). Also, duallys are often wider than normal trucks, with the attendant additional difficulty in parking and maneuvering. I haven't tryed it to be sure, but it is possible that the gas mileage may be a bit less than the the equivalent single wheel vehicle, and stopping power a bit improved (both because of the additional rubber on the road).

For towing, a dually will vary from useful to required; for around town use it will likely vary from bearable to almost unusable.

thumbs

alwarner