GAS/ELECTRIC WATERHEATER

ARCHER

I had posted a separate note on hot water tank not working right, but no answers so gonna do it again and add another question.
1. Gas will not stay on when lighting the hot water tank. It tries but will not light. I think it is probably the regulator there at the burner assembly. The control panel there will click but the gas will not ignite so I think the regulator is not letting gas in. Could this be a correct deduction?
2. How hard is it to add to my current system an "Electric" type heating unit so that I can use electric or gas to heat the hot water?
Regards to all who answer.... :)

sp

GAS/ELECTRIC WATERHEATER

Archer,

As you can see from some of my posts, I'm no expert. :dead: Maybe talking (writing) it through we all may able to figure something out.

What is the brand and model? I work better with pictures so I'll look it up.

So, you turn the controller to start up, fire, pilot or whatever and click the igniter. You keep pushing the igniter but it won't fire. Then the propane automatically shuts itself off.

Does that sound correct? If yes, do you smell propane? Is the igniter close enough to the the propane? Are there any type of safety devices on it to automatically shut off propane if no ignition?

Let me know what you think.
Steve :cool:

ARCHER

GAS/ELECTRIC WATERHEATER

Steve,
I don't know the brand name (it is on a 1989 Winn Chieftain).
Let me try to be more specific. All other gas appliances work just fine (Stove, furnace, refrigerator). On this model, here is what I do: