GPS.... anyone ?

dragon

I am thinking of buying a GPS for my Class C RV, that would have text-to-speech and dead reckoning capability.

I am find that all the commercialized information out there is a little over bearing, and have decided to ask those who have them. I have NO previous experience with a GPS unit ,other that what I have researched.

What RV GPS units have you gents and ladies found to be more productive, and why?

From what I understand, a RV GPS must be a Trucking GPS, to allow for avoidance of low bridges and propane restrictions.

SO, I am reaching out and asking..... what do you have, what do you recommend, and what to avoid??????

akjimny

Re: GPS.... anyone ?

Karen, I bought a Magellan Roadmate 1700 for my motorhome. We call it Suzie. I like it because it has a 7 inch screen and is easier to see with there old eyes. It has several good features, but is not a "trucker" GPS in that it won't tell you about low bridges, etc. But that hasn't been a problem so far.

One down side is Suzie (or any GPS for that matter) is very literal. It will do exactly what you tell it to do. If you tell it "Shortest Distance" it will direct you down some strange back county roads, or in one case, told me to exit the Interstate, drive on the frontage road for a couple of miles, then re-enter the Interstate. :laugh: :laugh:

Another thing is Suzie's voice isn't all that clear sometimes. Despite what Boss Lady says, I'm not completely deaf, yet. Luckily, I can touch the screen and Suzie (or Boss Lady) will repeat what she said.

I have had good luck with the Magellan. Others may like Garmin, or Tom Tom. I haven't had any experience with those. Hope this helps you some and doesn't confuse you more :laugh: :laugh:

Post back and let us know what you decide. :) :)

TexasClodhopper