GPS

robo1

I'm thinking of purchasing a gps unit to use with laptop. any suggestions on make and model would be very helpfull.ALSO CURIOUS IF GPS antena would work with different mapping programs or must use only with their own mapping softeware.

Thank You

texatdurango

GPS

I have been using Delorme's Street Atlas USA Deluxe for several years now and love it. Their GPS unit (Earthmate) plugs into the serial port of your laptop (or PC for motorhome users) and takes four AAA batteries. With the GPS on, a cursor shows your current location within 5' or so. It will also talk to you telling you how far you are to your pre-determined exits, etc. based on your trip plan.

The software allows you to save routes, play "what if" scenarios changing speeds, routes,etc.

Their web site is: http://delorme.com/

Good luck

Edited by - texatdurango on Feb 10 2002 1:33:33 PM

Cliff

GPS

You can also use that GPS system to play geo caching (cacheing?), though I know very little about it. But apparently they have a website dedicated to this game. You use the GPS coordinates to locate a "cache" of something, and search for these things. I'll try and get some more info and post here shortly...

*C*

Chaos reigns within. Reflect, repent, and reboot.
Order shall return.

www.gonecamping.net

Cliff

GPS

I found more info, I "cut-n-pasted" this from the Popup Times message board...
quote:
Are you guys familiar with a fairly new sport called 'Geocaching'?