Help negotiating the price on a new fifth wheel

EricCharlton

I may have posted this in the wrong section before. I am new to the RV world.

Good morning! This is my first post on here, and I had a question about how to negotiate the purchase price for the new fifth wheel I am about to buy. I have been in contact with a salesman in the Salt Lake City, UT area about getting a fifth wheel, and he sent me three links to units that he thought best met my liking.

The MSRP listed on the pages were between 61k and 63k. I had previously told him that my budget was in the mid 40's. When I asked him why he sent me links for such expensive models, he said they were "having a sale" on those and they were available for 44,999. In your experience, how much can I realistically expect to talk him down?

If it helps, the models were the 2013 Keystone Avalanche 341tg, and the Dutchmen Komfort 3530FBH. Thanks for your help!

JCZ

Welcome to the board and to RVing.

Rather than ask a "salesman".....you might start by asking those that have had the experience in front of you.....members of these forums.

What's your RV interest.....weekender, part time, full time, etc.

Do you plan on spending any time in the triple digit temps or down around freezing?

Is it just you, you and your wife......kids.....dog(s) etc.

What truck are you going to be pulling it with?

By the way, we're relatively new to 5th wheels, also. It's been a great experience so far and we've been all over in it, already.

EricCharlton

I travel the country for work, so I guess I would be going full time. As of now my family (wife, 3yr old daughter, and 7mo old boy) either stay in hotels or furnished apartments everywhere we go. I am getting tired of packing up the house every few months!

I do work in areas that hit triple digits sometimes, I would say most of my jobs are in the Southwest part of the country.