Hot water smell

Snipman4

I am still new to RVing. I have a 93 Fleetwood 37" I bought it the end of Oct and the previous owner winterized it with me. I am now getting a smell from the hot water. I think it's from the antifreeze, how do I clean out the hot water heater?

Ed H.

Hot water smell

Hi and welcome to the forum.
Therre are a couple of possible causes for a smell from the hot water. There could have been bacteria in the water or minerals in it could have reacted with the anode rod. If it is bacteria, a normal cleaning and sanitizing of the plumbing should take care of it. If it is a chemical reaction, I would try replacing the anode rod. You can get one at an RV dealer and it is a screw-in replacement.
To sanitize the plumbing, put a few gallons of fresh water in the tank and add enough bleach to smell it. Run this water to all the faucets and let it sit for a few minutes then flush the system with clean water. This should be done each spring anyway.
If that doesn't do the trick, try a new anode rod.
Ed

Snipman4

Hot water smell

Ed, Sorry, but remember I am new. You said put fresh water in the tank, are you talking about the Hot water tank? Because I do not have a fresh water tank, it runs straight from the campground. I set up as a seasonal, tow it in and leave it. How would I go about adding fresh water into the hotwater tank, do I need to disconnect the fresh water line and manually pump it through like I would to winterize, keeping the hot water spicket open?

Ed H.

Hot water smell

Snipman, you've got it. Pump the mixture of bleach and water through all the lines in the trailer, let it sit for 10 or 15 minutes and flush it out with clean water. You will need 2 or 3 gallons more than the water heater holds to do this.
If it was bacteria, this should take care of it. If not, you'll know. When I was learning refrigeratoin, the instructor always said to try the easiest thing first because it's most often the problem.

Snipman4

Hot water smell