Quality of workmanship/product

darwinbene

I have just became a registered user and was looking at the different fourms. Under the "General" heading I was reading about the Forest River line of products and what was happening with customer service.

In my opinion, the entire industry is in lack of quality workmanship. This is my story:

The wife and I have been RVing since 2000 and we started out buying a used pakage. The TT was about 1 year + and still had the warranty in force. The slide on the trailer was out of alingment to the point it was pulling the dinning booth apart. Which, when we looked at the unit, was conveniently covered up. After some diagnoising on my own, determined it should be looked at and repaired by a factory certified repair shop and the shop did repair it to our satisfaction.

We traded that unit off in spring of 2002 for a McKenzie Medallion 36' 5th wheel. Had a lot of problems with this unit also. The Black tank was always smelling bad and could never get it flushed out completley. Had a devil of a time getting the carpet replace in one of the slide outs, because it was cut to short on the corners. After about 18 months the self seeking satellite quit working because the connections were not sealed properly and moisture corroded. The landing gear jacks motor burned up because it was not correctly installed.