rv questions

ndtiger

I am considering buying a travel trailer. I have never owned one before and have some questions.

I have a Chevy 1500 1/2 ton with a 5.3 litre v-8. What would be the maximum weight that I would want to tow?

I am very interested in the expandable trailers (Jayco Kiwi,Coyote, etc.). I am interested in these because of low weight and shorter length when traveling and turning around in tight spaces. Any comments on these type trailers or brands?

I have also considered some pop-up campers but looking at the expandable's the price difference is not that much and the expandables seem to be of better quality. Any comments?

I am a beginner and know almost nothing about this subject. I love to camp but get tired of waking up in a tent and everything is moist from the condensation. Looking to upgrade from tent's to something better.

Kirk

rv questions

Welcome to the RV world!

To see what you can safely tow, you need to consider two things. First, look for the data plate on your truck, probably located on the door post, that will list the gross vehicle weight rating,(GVWR) and also the Gross Combined Weight Rating (GCWR). These are the two keey factors. You must have enough difference between the actual weight of the truck when loaded to travel and the GVWR to allow for the added weight that the tongue of the trailer will add to the truck. Next, you consider the weight of your truck as it will be when towing and deduct that weight from the GCWR to see just how heavy your trailer can be when it is loaded to travel. That difference will tell you what you can safely tow. It is a good idea to weight your truck at a public scale with a full fuel tank and the things that you expect to carry when traveling, just to be on the safe side.