solar power for my cabin

adamant

i am new to solar power and like to look into it for charging my battery bank...I need it for modest 12 volt power setup (that i still need to look into)for my 200sq ft cabin in pa. I have 2 6 volt trogen t-105 volt battery that i will be using for power at
periods of time when not using the genreator for our 120 volt power.
we are there on the weekends and a few weeks out of the
year..
1. am i better off looking into 12 volt lights and applinances ? if so what do you recomend..
How large of a pannel do you recomend?
2.were is the best place to get them?
here is a link to my cabin------------

http://community.webshots.com/user/adamant117

i am still learning
thanks
anthony

Gruffy

solar power for my cabin

;) Reminds me of our little cabin, but we sleep in the attic.

We have 3 Siemans 75 watt panels charegeing a fork lift battery. We use a 3,000 watt inverter. The lights are compact flourescents in standard light bulb sockets.
The fridge is a bar unit. Stay away from frost free, it's a power hog.

:disapprove: The down side is we were there all last October. The sun shone for 3 days.

:approve: I see a wind mill in the near future. Probably an Air X... that looks about right. The cost is a bit less then solar and the wind blows day or night. Might be something to consider.

adamant

solar power for my cabin

thanks again;;;i TOOK some info that you guys gave me and i found out that i can get away with 50-80 watt panel..(if i was in full sun)since i am in some what shade one outfit said if i go larger (120 watt)it would compinsate for the shade...
what do you guys think....
i like to go solar but dont wont to waste my money on a system that i cant get anything out of...
ant

Gruffy

solar power for my cabin

Don't eat that Wilbur it's horse s---!!!