Thinking about becoming fulltimers

DKing

Hi,

My name is Donna and I will be able to retire in about 8 years. We have always wanted to travel and see the US and currently do this by camping. My husband and I are seriously contemplating selling our home and buying a 40 - 45 ft RV to live in permanently. When I retire, we will be unable to stay in our home. I have a hefty mortgage (and the home is much too large for us) with many years left until it's paid off. However, I am also very fortunate to have significant equity to be able to sell the home, pay off the mortgage and home equity loan and still have enough cash left to buy an NICE RV and still have money left in the bank. As a teacher, I will have a decent pension, proceeds from a tax shelter I set up when I first began my teaching career, and health benefits. Since our children live all over the country anyway and due to their jobs rarely get home, home has become merely a house we live in. We have always wanted to travel the US, Canada, and Mexico and would love to downsize on the items we have accumulated over the years.

We know that making this kind of a leap would take a great amount of courage, planning, and that we be as informed as possible. We would love to have some conversations with others who have made the leap to RV fulltime and get some advice. I am currently 51 and my husband is 50. We are both in exceptionally good health. I plan to retire at 59 1/2 (to get my health benefits).

So, if there is anyone out there - please send an email to me at donnaking1@verizon.net

Thanks.

Donna

TexasClodhopper

Re: Thinking about becoming fulltimers

Hello Donna. Welcome to the forum!

I'm sorry you've put your email address in your post. You'll probably get a bunch of spam from that. Same thing in your profile in the Control Panel.

There are lots of people looking to do what you want to do. It will take a lot of research on your part to find the 'perfect' RV for you.