Towing & parking Questions

Capt Ron

Greetings Folks, I am a newbie to RVing: Ijust bought an 01 Prowler 30s travel trailer. To tow it, I am using a 06 chevy 1500 with a 5.3L engine and a 5:3:3 rearend ratio. The truck also has a 4" lowering in the back an 2" in front. The truck is rated to pull up to 7,000lbs., and the trailer is 5,500lbs., but my in-laws swear I won't be able to pull it. Will there be any problems?

Also, I kinda got in over my head with the length. 30' is pretty long condsidering that I have never pulled a trailer. Any driving and or parking tips woul be appreciated.

DL Rupper

RE: Towing & parking Questions

My best advice is "Don't load the trailer with too many items (weight)". It won't take very much camping gear to eat up 1500lbs. You also need to take into account the weight of the water in your RV fresh water tank and propane. You shoud be able to tow it, but be careful. You also need to be able to stop it and control it on hills. Good luck and happy camping. Learning how to park it and back it up comes with white knuckle practice. :evil: :bleh:

csavage

RE: Towing & parking Questions

First thing, take your new purchase to a big parking lot and practice backing up and parking from both directions. I took some bottles and practiced parking between the bottles. Expect that this practice will take several hours-I used a community college parking lot on a Sunday.
Second, get a swaybar. It took me 3 years and one mountain trip to realize that these are one of the most important additions to trailering. Not only does it eliminate swaying on a narrow mountain road with a crosswind, it allows your engine to not have to work as hard pulling it straight ahead.
Third, look into a cane air filter for your truck. Fram is selling them on it's website. You'll add about 15-25 hp to your engine's capacity and add about 1-2 mpg to your gas mileage.