Washington D.C. RV Park??

DreamerZZZ

Hello,

We are total newbies to RVing and we're picking up an RV in Virginia soon. So, we're thinking we really should do a couple of days of sight-seeing in DC while we're up there.

We probably minimally want to see the National Zoo and some of the Smithsonian sites (Natural History - Air & Space). Is the International Spy Museum worth a visit? We have a 9-yr-old so our agenda can't be too "high brow".

Any suggestions ... comments?? What is a good RV park to use within easy commuting to DC?

I see a place called Cherry Hill Park on the web calling itself the closest site to DC ... anyone familiar with this park??

Thanks,

Jeff

dennis1949

When we went last year I did not want to fight the traffic on I95 and 295? to get there. We stayed at the KOA in fredericksburg Va. Road the VRE into DC a couple of times and the day we stayed late in DC drove the 45 miles to Francio and took the Metro in. This is a nice quiet campground with plenty of shade

Cryzmath

We've been there - Cherry Hill can be a little bit pricy. They have a pool, hot tub, miniature golf, and a few other things in the park. It is in College Park and there is a Metro Bus that you can take to the Metro station in College Park. You can ride the Metro to most of the palces that you're interested in visiting. You will want to check on the prices of the different museums as well as what are the current exhibts. It is a large park with different aspects.
Enjoy your new RV and welcome to the forum.

crawfole

RE: Washington D.C. RV Park??