What is mark up on 5th Wheel?

Barbara

I am looking to by a 5th wheel 29-30 ft. RLS, I'm learning what the letters mean! I have been looking at MSRP from 30K to 45K. Anyway I don't mind them making a profit, but please, I work hard for my money and make far less than a good RV Sales person. What is the usual percent of mark up from dealer invoice? Is the MSRP what the manufacture thinks the dealer should make? After years of being riped off in the auto market I finally know how to make a fair deal for myself and the salesperson. I am lost in this type of product can any one help. :blush:

buckbs

Barbara,

I'm not an expert by any means, but from what I have read in magazines and on websites, 15-18% off MSRP is probably a good deal. If you can get the dealer to throw in anything else, you're even that much farther ahead. I got 18% off on the fifth wheel that I bought, and found that I could do no better. If you wait until the end of the year like September, dealers are even more ready to unload stock.
buckbs

C Nash

Barbara,
In the price range you are looking at I would offer 25% off which they probably want take but don't be affraid you will hurt their feelings. Offer and walk away and let them think a few days while you are looking elsewhere and making offers. Even the MSRP may not be accurate at some dealers. Try to find a dealer that you trust. Look even the new units over the same as you would a used unit. All makes can have lemons. Good luck

Barbara

Just talked with a sales person who I won't be talking to again. I wanted to see the dealer invoice, she told me they won't show it, I asked what they where hiding? She said I wouldn't ask the grocer for their cost on a can of peas sooo. Personally I do not see the analogy. I was thinking at least 15% - 20% off MSRP would be OK. They sure get touchie about this. Can't wait till the same info is available on these units as autos, just might stop the rape of innocent people. :eek:

Gary B