what to choose

almostafossel

Hi! I am new to RVing. I am considering a 5th wheel (Titanium From Glendale)I am hoping to spend the winters in Ontario and travel during the summer. Any info on cold climate Rving or 5th wheel selection would be helpfull. I have also heard of arctic packages. What are they. Thanks in advance for any help givin

C Nash

what to choose

hello almostafossil
Double pane windows, heat pads in the holding tanks, small electric heater in the water hook up bay, upgrade insulation are some of the things included in an artic package. I would not buy one without this for winter camping. The extra insulation comes in handy in summer time air condition also. Double pane windows help on condensation and heating/cooling. You will need to wrap you water hose if you leave it connected to city water supply. If you are staying in one location some type underpining will help. A small electric heater inside also comes in handy. Some have installed cataliic type heaters but, I am a little afraid of the unvented heaters in rvs. Heating the inside of your rv should keep any pipes from frezzing.

Kirk

what to choose

To my knowledge, Teton trailers are still the only ones that have a guarantee that the water pipes will not freeze as long as the owner keeps the heat at a reasonable temperature for occupation. You will at least need an RV that has an "artic" package in it. And you would be very wise to have it skirted to prevent air from passing under it. All water and sewer lines will need to be wrapped with heat tape and insulation to keep them working. And I strongly advise you to get a quick disconnect installed into the propane line to allow the connection of a large propane tank and then rent one from your local supplier that is at least 100#. You don't say how big the trailer is, but you will probably use at least 100# per week in really cold weather.