Ground clearance on 40's

nctox

I'm new to the idea of RVing, and am interested in buying a late model used 40' diesel pusher. I haven't really gotten into looking yet, but I have one big concern. I live in western NC, mountainous terrain. My driveway is a little steep, but that isn't my biggest worry. I'm worried that the dip between the paved road and my driveway will cause a 40 footer to drag the rear portion behind the rear wheels. Is there any way to determine whether this will be a problem before I start looking at MH's? Is there a "rule of thumb" or something more specific for determining the change in grade(slope) that a MH can handle?
I used the search function and found a similar question asked about a year ago, but it didn't really get an answer. :question:

vanole

Re: Ground clearance on 40's

nctox,

I know you will want to shoot me after reading the link. It does however tell you how to figure/calculate approach angles for vehicle drag. Figs 4 & 5. I will tell you this I do not have enough fingers or toes to do that calc. I think the longest wheelbase you can find would be a huge help. I only ever drug once in my 38' and present coach is 43' and have yet to drag.

I used "calculate driveway approach angles" on google to come up with this.

http://www.accessmanagement.info/AM08/AM0804Gattis/AM0804Gattis.pdf

Jeff

big bilko

RE: Ground clearance on 40's